Spoon/Beltway Weekend – Quick Synopsis

It’s me again, welcome to Part II of the series: Concerts I Went To, and Other Shit I Did That Weekend. I have some more work to do today so this story will be even worse than the last one, but I’ll at least attempt a quick synopsis:

Showed up to Spoon @ Sonar in Baltimore 1.5 hours late, still had to sit through 1.5 more hours of the 2nd opening band. Drove to DC & was staying with Julienne, she usually has entertaining shows saved on Tivo. I had no idea the Beltway was just a big circle, I’m kind of a moron but that’s good to know for future reference. Also there was some really cool looking building in Virginia and I tried to take a picture of it, but it was hard to do that without swerving off the road, and by that time I had already driven by it. We hung out with Dicky and infamous blogger DC Hero on Saturday night. Dicky likes to talk about funk albums from the early 80’s and DC Hero will usually comment about how drunk he is. On Sunday we went to the Nats/Braves game where Tim Redding continued his inexplicable run of success in 2008, and youngster Lastings Milledge was named Player of the Game in the team’s 5-4 victory. Here is the setlist for Friday night’s Spoon show:

Main Set:
Chicago At Night
Rhthm and Soul
Stay Don’t Go
Jonathon Fisk
The Delicate Place
Nefarious
The Ghost of You Lingers
Peace Like a River (Paul Simon Cover)
Don’t You Evah
Don’t Make Me a Target
Someone Something
Back To The Life
I Summon You
I Turn My Camera On
Finer Feelings
You Got Yr. Cherry Bomb
The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine
The Underdog

Encore #1:
Anything You Want
The Beast and Dragon, Adorned
Small Stakes

Encore #2:
Rocks Off (Stones Cover)

Grade: A. All of these songs are good, but in particular: “Jonathon Fisk”, “The Ghost of You Lingers”, “Don’t You Evah”, and “The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine” were the highlights of the main set. They played most of their best songs, although “My Mathematical Mind” and “Vittorio E” were notable exceptions. For those of you unfamiliar with Spoon, the last two songs of Encore #1-“The Beast and Dragon, Adorned” and “Small Stakes”–are arguably their two finest (I’m not in love with “Anything You Want” but it’s not bad or anything). I’m very pleased with this new trend of covering awesome British Invasion songs for encores. After watching Stephen Malkmus cover “Taxman” two weeks before and totally nail it, I was happy to see Spoon come through with a very tasteful song choice, and a performance which frankly was probably better than the original. Also, lead singer/guitarist Britt Daniel sings like a British guy, but he’s actually from Austin, Texas and sounds like Jim Belushi when he talks.

Someone asked me a question about encores in the previous post: yes all rock concerts have an encore. Some bands play two entire sets, then come back for a one song encore; other acts play one long set, then do a couple songs for an encore. This is the 1st show I’ve been to with multiple encores, but it’s not necessarily unheard of. The encore isn’t really a surprise as such. In my experience, when the show is actually over they turn the lights on, so you can always tell if the band is coming back for another encore or not. Ideally, your original set will leave the audience wanting more, so the encore provides a good sense of closure to the performance. I think for that reason, cover songs are very popular as an encore. Out of the 4 really good bands I’ve seen live–White Stripes, Spoon, Phish & Steven Malkmus–all of them performed cover songs during their encore. This would be a good Wikipedia entry for “encore”.

4 thoughts on “Spoon/Beltway Weekend – Quick Synopsis

  1. i wrote it in my phone using the “notes” application for the iphone, the malkmus one i found somewhere else

  2. I actually got it wrong though, i originally thought the paul simon cover was “believing is art” cause the riff sounded vaguely similar.

Leave a Reply

